HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: AfterBuzz TV

Secrets & Lies Season 1 Episode 9 Review & After Show | AfterBuzz TV

43 ratings | 23713 views
Hosts discuss season 1 episode 9 "The Mother" Subscribe on YouTube: http://youtube.com/afterbuzztv @SterlingCates @LaurenSalaun @AprilWhisenhant and @Cbriche discuss episode 9! AFTERBUZZ TV — Secrets And Lies is a weekly "after show" for fans of ABC's Secrets And Lies. In this show, hosts Lauren Salaun, Sterling Cates, April Whisenhant, and Chelsea Briche discuss episode 9. Secrets & Lies stars Ryan Phillippe as a family man who finds the body of a young boy and quickly becomes the prime murder suspect. Juliette Lewis and KaDee Strickland co-star. Follow us on http://www.Twitter.com/AfterBuzzTV "Like" Us on http://www.Facebook.com/AfterBuzzTV For more of your post-game wrap up shows for your favorite TV shows, visit http://www.AfterBuzzTV.com All playlists: https://www.youtube.com/user/AfterBuzzTV/playlists HELPFUL LINKS: -AfterBuzz TV YouTube: http://youtube.com/afterbuzztv -AfterBuzz TV iTunes' Artist Page: https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/afterbuzz-tv/id407139777?mt=2 -AfterBuzz TV Sizzle Reel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAp1IYD3nns -Purchase AfterBuzz TV Merch: http://www.printfection.com/afterbuzztv -Purchase Adventures of Serial Buddies: https://itunes.apple.com/us/movie/adventures-of-serial-buddies/id648123455 -Official Adventures of Serial Buddies website: http://serialbuddies.com/ -Buy Maria Menounos 1st Book: http://www.amazon.com/EveryGirl%252019s-Guide-Life-Maria-Menounos/dp/0061870781/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1393975997&sr=8-3&keywords=maria+menounos -Buy Maria Menounos 2nd Book: http://www.amazon.com/The-EveryGirls-Guide-Diet-Fitness/dp/0804177139/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393975997&sr=8-1&keywords=maria+menounos -Catch AfterBuzz TV on Oxygen's Chasing Maria Menounos: http://chasing-maria-menounos.oxygen.com/#fbid=Zy3WZMwj4Az -Download the iOS AfterBuzz App: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/afterbuzztvapp/id806057780?mt=8 Download the Andriod AfterBuzz App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.afterbuzztv.podcastapp -Download the Andriod Black Hollywood Live App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bhl.podcastapp -Visit http://blackhollywoodlive.com -Visit http://anatomyofamovie.com -Visit http://bookcircleonline.com -Visit http://schmoesknow.com & their YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/schmoesknow -Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mariamenounos https://twitter.com/afterbuzztv https://twitter.com/bhlonline https://twitter.com/movieanatomy
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (29)
David Burrus (3 years ago)
That second girl on the show is annoying
Watch Cordell Confidential
Keisha Moore (3 years ago)
Jess is clearly coco- NUTs!!!! valid suspect, Christie although she irritates the crap out of me, I think they made her too obvious a suspect, Abby is starting to look kind of suspicious as well, although I am hoping they don't do that.
UltimateBrody (3 years ago)
I think the eldest teenage daughter did it. I don't know why she isn't a bigger suspect.
Kimara Harrington (3 years ago)
Is it just me or did anyone else think in the beginning that Cornell was ready for Belview! She just seems really creepy to me. Whomever did it, I still think Cornell needs a psych evaluation. My guess is either Christy or the man that kidnapped ben maybe his wife did it. Her husband was insane maybe she is too. She never as far as I remember apologized for her husband kidnapping him.
Fantasy Stats Guru (3 years ago)
I didn't originally think it was Abby but it would makes sense that she was waiting up for her dad that night. She saw him get out of the cab and go to Jess's house Maybe she followed him and saw that he read bedtimes stories to Tom and got jealous. Its a stretch though. My thought is Jess's sister but don't really know the motive.
Markyajv (3 years ago)
As a person who is a fan of the original, as is usually the case, I am not that impressed by the remake. I did not read anything about this show because I wanted to see if it stayed true to the plot of the original. That it did but it also added so much nonsense to the story I honestly was saying to myself "HOW are they going to make the killer the same?" The filler episode with the flashlights and the torture by the neighbor was unnecessary. Mellissa Gilbert and her son was just a distraction for no reason at all. Making Jess out to be a mental person? Really?  If only the original was shown here instead of remaking it I would not be reading all the comments about who the killer is because they made it too easy. In the original last episode I was floored! Never expected it for 1 second during the whole season. If they make a season two, like they did with The Killing (Another chop job, Thanks USA!) I am done. I also need to address Juliette Lewis. I LOVE her...but...WTH is this??? She is horrendous in this role. (Thank you Wayward Pines for bringing her back!!!) Never bought her character for a minute. The cop in the original was not so "In Your Face" - She just is bad, really wooden, really bad and NO story as to why? I think her hair was pulled back too tight that it made her a caricature of a nasty librarian. Ryan Phillipe is not the best actor in the world by a long shot but when someone like Juliette can make him look better than he is there is a problem....shees. America? Knock, Knock, Knock STOP REMAKING GOOD SHOWS!!!! Why can't you just buy the rights and show the originals? We can understand other accents and we can read subtitles. We are not dumb, you know why I know that? Because of all the crap you have remade that was excellent in it's original form.
tequilashots875 (3 years ago)
I don't think it was Abby at all. It was premeditated murder. Abby isn't that smart. She is just a kid.
Taisia Johnson (3 years ago)
Trust me...Abby did it!!!!! I think that Cornell said the wrong phrase purposely to prove that Abby heard the argument, which gave her some type of motive. Mark my words... That was Cornell's confirmation that she was really right.
T.A. Brooks (3 years ago)
+shortyjo Jess is still very suspect to me, but it definitely be devastating to learn that Abby killed Tom.
Shonda (3 years ago)
+T.A. Brooks I do agree it's looking like Abby. It would break my heart if anyone in Ben's family did it. I've been saying it was Jess from the beginning so I'm going to stick with the choice, but it is looking more and more like Abby did it.
T.A. Brooks (3 years ago)
+Taisia Johnson I agree...Abby did it. Abby's behavior this episode and Cornell's reasoning points to the "daddy's girl". She didn't want her family to break up and probably saw Ben's connection w/ Tom and decided to take matters into her own hands.
Lauren Salaun (3 years ago)
+Taisia Johnson Oh, good point! Yeah, for the longest time, I thought that it was ridiculous to think Abby did it, but now, my money's on her...
Taisia Johnson (3 years ago)
I think they're trying too hard to make us think its Jess.
CraftCollector (3 years ago)
I think its Abby from the very beginning
Amanda Lovatsis (3 years ago)
To answer the question you guys had near the beginning about how Cornell knows certain things - there is an online web series called Cornell Confidential on ABC.com where we get extra scenes of Cornell. In one of the videos, she is interviewing Christy and says that she got a receipt from the convenient store proving that Christy's story to Cornell about where she was at that time doesn't match because there is a receipt from the store that proves otherwise.
Amanda Lovatsis (3 years ago)
+Lauren Salaun It just adds to the suspicion but it really does give more to the story! 
Markyajv (3 years ago)
+irisn roses I hear ya, but SMART Americans, like us,  don't want to watch soap opera's That's why soap opera's aren't around anymore.
Lauren Salaun (3 years ago)
+Amanda Lovatsis I haven't been keeping up with Cornell Confidential as much...that's good to know!
irisn roses (3 years ago)
I can agree its annoying to watch it online instead of it being written into the show. Im sure the Australian version was better just like the aussi Wilfred but americans like the over exaggerated drama and this is better than most shows on tv.
Markyajv (3 years ago)
+irisn roses No you don't. Because it was probably stuff from the cutting room floor. Answers they could have put in the main show but try and make us go crazy by putting way too many scenarios in our heads.
Sage Valentine (3 years ago)
This episode kept me on the edge of my seat. Everyone on Twitter thought that this was the last episode and that we would find out who killed Tom. I can't wait until the killer is revealed. The anticipation is killing me.
Markyajv (3 years ago)
+Sage Valentine I will not watch but I hope Juliette Lewis does not sign back on. Thank the powers that be I got to see her in Wayward Pines and she is the Juliette I love.....
Lauren Salaun (3 years ago)
+Sage Valentine Wasn't it a great one! SO INTENSE!
Sage Valentine (3 years ago)
The second season will center around another character with a different story. A lot of people are tuning in.
Markyajv (3 years ago)
+Sage Valentine Just cross your finger there is not a second season!! The original was told in 8 episodes and you never suspected who the killer is until revealed. SHOCKED!! They already screwed this up so many times.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.